Lesson 18

The Arabic letters are divided into two categories

- a. Sun Letters (الحروف الشمسية)
- b. Moon Letters (الحروف القمرية)

If a 'Moon Letters' happen to come after the article AL (ال), the Laam (ل) in the article is pronounced with Sukun.

However, if the article AL (J) is followed by a 'Sun Letter' then the Laam (J) will not be pronounced and the 'Sun Letter' will be pronounced with a Shaddah.

The 14 'Moon' letters are;



s of four kinds [الوقف)] is of four kinds

- 1- Waqf al-Ibdaal
- 2. Waqf al-Iskaan
- 3. Waqf bila Taghir

Cases of Waqf al-Ibdaal

a. When ending on 'Taa al-Marbutah' (ة), it (ة) changes to (ه) which is Sakin

b. Stopping on the Tanween of Fatha except if on 'Taa al-Marbutah' (*) \rightarrow changes to a normal Madd